Still looking for writers

Many of you have asked me about my book, Priesthood of ALL Believers. There were some delays with the contract due to fun legal stuff, but it is now in my hands and everything is moving forward!

Which means, I need you! I have received quite a few amazing stories, but am still seeking more — particularly from Baptist women of color.

A reminder of what I need:

2,000-3,000 words sharing your calling—how it was discerned,  what the process of answering that call has looked like in your life. I would also appreciate a photo (digital is fine) and a brief bio. I prefer stories in Word format. I need the final version by Aug. 15 (and the earlier, the better!). Email all submissions to me at doveintheattic (at) gmail (dot) com. (See this post for more details on the book.)

Please pass this on to all of the Baptist ministers and seminarians you know — and anyone you know who might know Baptist ministers and seminarians!

2 Comments

Filed under book project

2 responses to “Still looking for writers

  1. Chaplain Marvina D. Smith Jackson

    My name is, Marvina D. Jackson, and I humbly acknowledge and recognize, that because of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, I have been ordained, licensed and endorsement by the National Baptist Convention USA Inc. and licensed by the American Baptist Churches.
    Academically, I completed my Bachelor of Arts degree from Ottawa University, and Master of Divinity from Central Baptist Theological Seminary. In terms of clinical education, I completed my (CPE) Clinical Pastoral Education training from Research Medical Center, Baptist Medical Center, Trinity Lutheran Hospital and St Luke Hospital in Kansas City, MO. I am (BCC), a Board Certified Chaplain, having appeared before and met the current competency standards and a member of the (APC), Association of Professional Chaplains organization.
    My diverse past experience as a graphic artist supervisor at Hallmark Cards for 31 years, choir directress 25 + years, Sunday-school teacher, and condolence clerk, has enriched my skills, competency and wisdom in preparation for ministry, community leadership and now a professional clinical care-giver.
    I provide pastoral counseling, grief support and as an effective liaison with local clergy caring for their members. I have extensive experience on assigned units, chaplain with the Trauma Center, the Palliative Care Team, Organ Donor Council member, Ambassador for the Heart of America Association and Domestic Violence Task Force Team. Humbly through Christ, I bring to this ministry comfort and tested ability to support and work effectively across cultures with matters of spirituality, respect to religion and all faith traditions. I am currently serving as a full-time staff chaplain at Providence Medical Center in Kansas City, Kansas.
    With all my heart, my solemn vow to God, my petition and my prayer is;
    “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord my strength, and my redeemer.” (Psalm 19: 14)

Leave a Reply

