Look for me as you go by

spinningI tossed my calendar out the window after waving at myself on the highway. A summer filled with kids’ camps, family reunions, writing class and marriage (definitely the best of the bunch!) quickly gave way to a fall of preaching, reading, researching and traveling – always traveling. Allyn and I are a week into a three week church history course. We’ve timetraveled nearly 2,000 years in the last week. My brain is spinning, and the rest of me is somewhere on I-70.

Home long enough to feed the cats and make sure the grass in the front yard doesn’t eat the house (it has threatened). Something about writing 15 pages and reading 200 in the course of a week while making a 9-hour round-trip journey and attending staff meetings (well, one of them…) and Wednesday night activities has me wondering which way is up. I about had a mental and emotional breakdown in the library this afternoon when I couldn’t quite find the information I needed for my next round of research papers.

Why am I doing this again? Oh right, calling. I’m feeling a little like Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof (which I adore): “I know, I know. We are Your chosen people. But, once in a while, can’t You choose someone else?”

If you see me on I-70, feel free to wave. Allyn and I will likely be hanging out with Theodora and Origen. I’m sure they would love to wave back.

(photo credit)
title from an Innocence Mission song of the same name

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Look for me as you go by

  1. i love this photo… thank you so much for stopping by my place today, friend.

Leave a Reply

